• Welcome to the CTAMFT Blog!

    A dynamic community for members of the Connecticut Association for Marriage and Family Therapy and their constituents.
  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 43 other followers

  • Advertisements

Letter from the President – Annual Conference and Business Report

Annual Conference and Business Report

CTAMFT President

Dorothy Timmermann, LMFT, CTAMFT Board President

MAMFT Treasurer, Mary Jane Beach

MAMFT Treasurer, Mary Jane Beach

What a pleasure it was to welcome more than 300 attendees at our recent CTAMFT Annual Conference held at the beautiful Mystic Marriott. For many this conference was our time to reconnect with colleagues, make new acquaintances, discover fresh ideas, and to strengthen our capacity to work with the couples and families that seek our guidance. We were fortunate to have several extraordinary speakers presenting this year including: Michele Weiner-Davis, Dr. Tammy Nelson and Dr. Rosalyn Dischiavo. Presentation materials from all of our speakers are available for download online at ctamft.org.

It was also such a lovely treat to have representatives from neighboring Associations join us for the Networking Event on Thursday evening. We look forward to future collaborations with both Rhode Island and Massachusetts members.

As is tradition at our Annual Conference, I also had the honor to announce the following 2012 CTAMFT Award Recipients:

Service to Families Award, in recognition of her contribution to strengthen and support families: Dr. Janis Abrahms Spring (a contribution was made to the National Parkinson Foundation on her behalf).

Distinguished Service Award, to one of Connecticut’s leading educators, Dr. Stephen Anderson, who is director of the MFT Program at the University of Connecticut; director of the Center of Applied Research in Human Development; and a professor in the Department of Human Development and Family Studies.

Service to the Organization Award, in recognition of a group of individuals who have consistently gone above and beyond the call of duty and were the guiding force behind CTAMFT’s successful implementation of our Elections e-vote system that is now in place: Nancy Wergeles, Heather Ehinger and Paula Levy.

Service to the Organization Award – Levy and Ehinger

 We also held our Annual Business Meeting at the Conference this year. For efficiency sake, highlights were shared and the details are posted for all members to review online at ctamft.org. This 2012 Business Report includes summary information on achievements and financials from 2011, as well as the 2012 budget details.

Wendy Haggerty and Jeff Shutz

Wendy Haggerty and Associate Representative Jeff Schutz

Regarding our Association’s Business, an area that we are always concerned with is our Legislative agenda. For the upcoming year, a main focus will be on presenting our “Associate License” bill for passage, and we will begin to put together a team in early fall to be prepared to do so. We also continually support the efforts led by AAMFT on improving access to Medicare-covered mental health benefits by pushing for recognition of LMFTs. There are also some AAMFT changes, such as those to the Member Categories, that will need our support divisionally to implement with new Bylaws. We are taking this opportunity to review our Bylaws in great detail so that we can make overall improvements as well as needed adjustments. Members will be provided with relevant information and voting members will be asked to vote for approval of changes this fall.

Finally, we would like to invite members to join us for the next Networking Breakfast and Board meeting which will be held at Southern CT State University on this Friday, May 11th in the Alumni Room of the Adante Student Center. Please RSVP immediately to e-mail if you are interested in attending. This will complete our recent outreach to all the MFT programs in CT and we appreciate being so welcomed and all the wonderful connections made.

Director - Betsey Lebow

Director – Betsey Lebow

AAMFT Annual Conference

Please consider attending AAMFT’s Annual Conference being held September 13-16th at the Charlotte Convention Center in Charlotte, NC. The theme of this year’s conference is “Women: Evolving Roles in Society and Family.” If you are attending and interested in sharing information with CTAMFT members, please contact Wendy Haggerty at 203-254-1748 or e-mail.

CTAMFT Election Results

Student Representative - Michelle Vinci

Student Representative – Michelle Vinci

The Elections Committee, led this year by Paula Levy, was responsible for the coordination of many excellent candidates. Thank you to all who participated and also those members who took the time to vote. Please join us in congratulating the following people, assuming their elected positions in July 2012.

        • President-Elect: Denise Parent, LMFT
        • Director: Normajean Cefarelli, LMFT
        • Director: Betsey Lebow, LMFT
        • Associate Representative: Jeff Schutz, MA
        • Student Representative: Michelle “Mika” Vinci
        • Elections Committee Member: Diane Safran, LMFT

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s